Screen Producers Ireland Announces Appointment of New CEO

Wednesday, November 23rd, 2016

The Board of Screen Producers Ireland (SPI) is pleased to announce the appointment of Elaine Geraghty as the new CEO for the organisation today (23rd November). The Board also expressed its thanks and best wishes to outgoing CEO Barbara Galavan who had led the organisation since 2010.

Elaine Geraghty holds an MBA and has over 25 years of experience in print, broadcast and the not for profit sectors. Elaine has held a number of senior management and executive leadership roles in some of Ireland’s most dynamic and innovative media brands. As CEO of Newstalk, she took the station from local Dublin to Ireland’s first independent national talk radio station. Most recently Elaine has served as CEO for Reachout Ireland, the online youth mental health charity  Elaine sits on the Board of the National Print Museum of Ireland and has been invited to join the Board of ReachOut Ireland. She was previously a Director of the Independent Broadcasters of Ireland.

SPI Chairman, John Hennessy, commented “We are delighted to welcome Elaine as the new CEO of Screen Producers Ireland. We believe that she is the perfect candidate to further strengthen the success of the organisation as it strives to provide exemplary support and representation for indigenous producers. The board and I also wish to acknowledge the excellent job done by Barbara Galavan during her six year tenure as Chief Executive and to wish her every success in her future career”.

Incoming CEO, Elaine Geraghty, added, “I am very pleased to be taking over as CEO of Screen Producers Ireland. The independent production sector has a significant cultural and economic impact on Ireland; it provides high-quality employment and nurtures our creative talent as well as preserving our artistic heritage in a format that has mass appeal. I look forward to working with SPI members to promote growth and sustainability within the sector.”

Elaine will commence her role as CEO on the 16th of January 2017.