Dingle International Film Festival announce the short film selections for 2018.

Monday, January 22nd, 2018

The Dingle International Film Festival has announced the short film listing for their 2018 festival. Dingle’s 12th annual celebration will showcase 60 national and international films from 22 – 25 March.

This coming March, Dingle International Film Festival will host a wonderful selection from local, emerging talent. The programme “Kerry in Film” will exhibit premiere screenings of Fiona Ní Ghrifín’s AN tATHAIR Ó FIANNACHTA, THE ROGUE by Arjen Sinninghe Damsté, WORD OF MOUTH from Ben Kavanagh and COYOTE by Dani Wall.

Newly funded shorts from The Irish Film Board/ Bord Scannán na hÉireann will be screened in St. James’s Church, home to our shorts filmmakers during the festival. As part of this exciting line up, TAKE ME SWIMMING, written by Ailbhe Keoghan and shot by Michael Kelly, includes a Dingle cast.

Maurice Galway, Founder/Director, Dingle International Film Festival said “Overall, an exceptional programme of quality short film from here in Ireland and around the world will be exhibited in St. James’s Church. We are extremely proud to programme such an ecclectic selection of films from our open submissions and with the participation of The Irish Film Board. ”

The festival would like to thank all the filmmakers who have contributed to this year’s programme. The short film selections for 2018 are:


Short Film Selections

A Break in the Clouds (Tristan Heanue, Ireland),

Acts of Kindness (James Sharpe, UK),

A Different Kind of Day (Maria Doyle Kennedy, Ireland),

An tAthair Ó Fiannachta (Fiona Ní Ghrifín, Ireland),

Bakery (Hashim Didari, Afghanistan),

Before You Were Born (Samie Romman, UK),

Blessed Days (Valentina Casadei, France),

Bordalo II: A Life Of Waste (Trevor Whelan, Ireland),

Chancer (Patrick Maxwell, UK),

Coyote (Dani Wall, Ireland),

Earthly Bonds (Alan Dunne, Ireland),

Forgive Me (Besim Ugzmajli, Republic Of Kosovo),

For When I Die (Paul Power, Ireland),

Growing Alice (Danilo Zambrano, Ireland),

Gustav (Ken Williams and Denis Fitzpatrick, Ireland),

How Not to Buy A Couch (Anna Borden, USA),

I am Gabriel (Gabriel Galway, Ireland),

Jon (Gemma Addy and Dave Slade, UK),

Leap of Faith (Mark Smyth, Ireland),

Little Shit (Richard Gorodecky, UK),

Mama (Nicholas Brennan, USA),

Marky’s Bad Week (Daniel Holmwood, Ireland),

Men of Straw (Matt Sullivan, Ireland),

Moonlight Sonata (Jay Jones, UK),

Muintir an Chlair/The Fairies (Tess O’Shea, UK),

Native (Linda Breathnach, Ireland),

Neon (Rioghnach Ni Ghrioghair, Ireland),

No Ghosts (Ragnar Snorrason, Iceland),

Pearls (Shelley Thompson, Canada),

Perplexed Music (Mark McGann,UK),

Picking Up the Pieces (Flann Manning, Ireland),

POLA (Edyta Rembała, Poland),

Rising (David Condon, Ireland),

Sisters in Arms (Jessica O’Sullivan, UK),

Sister India (Myles O’Reilly, Ireland),

Sound of Silence (The Rain Company, Ireland),

SPENT (Claire Byrne, Ireland),

The Fashion Show (Lucy Lumsden-Cook, UK),

The Foreshore (Jonathan Beamish, UK),

The Hidden People (Ronan Corrigan, Ireland),

The Observer Effect (Garret Walsh, Ireland),

The Rogue (Arjen Sinninghe Damsté, Ireland),

The Wake (Rik Gordan, Ireland),

The Widow’s Last (Vanessa Perdriau, UK),

The Vest (Lesley Manning,UK),

This Is Me (Alexander Milo Bischof, UK),

Throwline (Mia Mullarkey, Ireland),

Tit for Tatt (Mairéad Ní Thréinir, Ireland),

Touchpaper (Patrick Hopkins, UK),

TRiGGA (Meloni Poole, UK),

We Have Each Other (Naomi Sheridan, Ireland),

Word of Mouth (Ben Kavanagh, Ireland).


The festival’s full programme will be announced soon. For further information please click here